Judit Cubedo


Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Dr. Cubedo holds a PhD in Molecular and Cellular Biology from the University of Barcelona and an MBA from La Salle University. She has solid expertise in biomarker discovery, gained from 12 years spent conducting several research lines on clinical differential proteomic studies, biomarker validation studies and the characterization of protein post-translational modifications, for the identification of new biomarkers of cardiovascular risk and its clinical manifestations.

She has published more than 37 scientific publications in high-impact journals, including original papers and reviews, and two book chapters, and she holds four patents. She has participated in more than 10 research projects. She has been representative of the Scientist of Tomorrow (SoT) in the Working Group on Coronary Pathophysiology and Microcirculation (WG6) of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC), member of the Young Thrombosis Researchers Group of the ESC, and member of the Spanish Research Network for Cardiovascular Disease (RIC). During her last years in academic research her work was addressed to the development of immunobased assays for the detection of novel potential biomarkers of cardiovascular disease with transfer and commercialization potential. She was awarded with the Innovators Under 35-Spain MIT Technology Review award for the development of the first prototype to quantify ApoJ-Glyc as a biomarker of ischemia.

As CEO of GlyCardial, she has leaded critical stages such as the technology transfer process from the Institution into the Company, the incorporation of GlyCardial Diagnostics and the raising of more than 5M€ in private and public funding in the first 3 years of the company.

Dr. Cubedo has participated in several programs of entrepreneurship including CaixaImpulse and CaixaStart (La Caixa Banking Foundation) and the Acceleration programme of social impact projects Tech4Health (Ship2b Foundation). In 2020 she was listed among the 21 Women Innovators by the European Commission (EU Prize for Women Innovators).